## Land and Water Boards of the Mackenzie Valley

Box 2130 X1A 3Y6, Yellowknife NT P: 867.669.0506
W: www.mvlwb.com

June 24, 2024

Michael Roesch
Senior Project Manager, Resource & Lands Management
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada
4923 52nd Street
Yellowknife NT X1A 2R3

Nathen Richea
Assistant Deputy Minister, Regulatory, Authorizations and Assessments
Government of the Northwest Territories – Department of Environment and Climate Change
PO Box 1320
5102 – 50th Avenue
Yellowknife NT X1A 2L9

Sent via email

## RE: Application, Land Use, and Water Use Fee Exemption for Indigenous and Community Governments

As of April 2024, the Land and Water Boards of the Mackenzie Valley (LWBs) have implemented a new policy regarding fee exemptions for Indigenous Governments and community governments. The LWBs will no longer require fees from Indigenous Governments<sup>1</sup> for non-commercial projects on their traditional lands, or from community governments for non-commercial projects within their community boundaries. This policy applies to all application fees, land use fees, and water use fees.

The LWBs are implementing this policy in the interest of fairness and consistency with the intent of section 95 of the *Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act*:

Despite subsection 72.03(1) or any territorial law, the Gwich'in and Sahtu First Nations, the Tłįchǫ Government and the Délįnę Got'ine Government are not required to pay any fee in respect of the use of waters or the deposit of waste for non-commercial purposes on their first nation lands, Tłįchǫ lands or Déljnę lands as the case may be.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> As defined in the LWB <u>Engagement and Consultation Policy</u>: A government representing the rights and interests of a First Nation (as defined in section 2 of the MVRMA), Métis or Inuit organization, the Tłįchǫ First Nation, the Tłįchǫ Government, or the Déline Got'ine Government.

As you are the recipients of these fees, the LWBs are informing you of this standard practice and are open to answering any questions you may have. Please contact Kathy Racher at (867) 766-7457 or by email.

Sincerely,

Sincerely,

Tanya MacIntosh

Chair

Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board

Elizabeth Wright

Chair

Gwich'in Land and Water Board

Copied to: Rebecca Chouinard, CIRNAC

Kim Pawley, CIRNAC Chris Morton, CIRNAC Mason Mantla

Chair

Wek'èezhìi Land and Water Board

Valeen Goede

Valerie Gordon

Chair

Sahtu Land and Water Board